Bird

Author’s Note : Hey there ladies and gentlemen, it has been a while since I wrote something, work and health caught up to me in ways I wouldn’t wish it to. Here’s a Women’s Day poem. Foster the equality, develop the happiness, spread the humanity!


 

Why?

Why is it,

Dear brother,

Am I killed before my birth?

Why?

Were you worth more?

Were you made of gold?

Or was it something else?

Something more my fault,

Guess it must be.

 

Why?

Dear father,

Was I taught less,

Worked more,

Spoken to less,

Made to listen more,

Always quiet,

Like a moon in a starless night,

Alone in a crowd of people,

Always quiet,

Always a giver.

 

Why?

Dear husband,

Was I married to you so young,

You’re double my age,

And half my looks,

Oh I’m not haughty,

Not at all,

They say down to earth is good,

I was taught that,

But from where I am,

The sky looks far away,

So far away,

A distant speck,

Of a forgotten dream,

Why am I here?

Why?

 

 

Why?

I am made of flesh and blood too,

Brother.

I got skills too,

Ambitions too,

Aspirations too,

Father.

I can sing,

I can dance,

I can fly, as high as anyone,

I am worth more,

Capable of more,

An untapped mine,

In a sea of rubble,

Realize, please husband,

For our daughter is looking at the skies,

Please, oh please, don’t cut her wings off.